August 17, 2018

Three attorneys at Ahlers & Cooney, P.C., a Des Moines-based law firm, were recognized by The Best Lawyers in America© 2019 edition, as Best Lawyer of the Year 2019 in Des Moines for respective practice areas.

After each name in parentheses is the year that the lawyer was first recognized by Best Lawyers.

  • Andrew J. Bracken (2013)
    • Education Law – 2019 “Lawyer of the Year” in Des Moines
  • John H. Bunz (2013)
    • Public Finance Law – 2019 “Lawyer of the Year” in Des Moines
  • David H. Luginbill (2013)
    • Product Liability Litigation – Defendants – 2019 “Lawyer of the Year” in Des Moines

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers® has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Best Lawyers lists are compiled based on an exhaustive peer-review evaluation. Almost 87,000 industry leading lawyers are eligible to vote (from around the world), and we have received almost 10 million evaluations on the legal abilities of other lawyers based on their specific practice areas around the world. For the 2019 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America©, 7.8 million votes were analyzed, which resulted in almost 60,000 leading lawyers being included in the new edition. Lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor.

For over 130 years, Ahlers & Cooney has been providing comprehensive legal services to local, state, national and international businesses, educational institutions and municipalities.

More information can be found at: or

Bunz, John


« Back